top of page

The chakra system and how it affects our life

Uppdaterat: 13 juni 2023

The chakras are like our energy doors, that are located in our body along the spine. Through our chakras we received and send information from and to our environment. The Chakras affect how we feel, how we perceive and handle the information that we received from our surroundings and viceversa. That is why the chakras are very important part of our understanding and personal development as well as our spiritual development. Through them can we see what part of us and of our life we need to work on. Most people of the Western world lives in their lower three chakras, but there are many more things to achieve in the other upper 4 chakras. In other words, to function optimally, all the chakras must be opened and balanced.

The chakra system

The chakra system refers to 7 spiritual energy centers which are situated in our body.

Chakra in Sanskrit means “wheel” and it’s a concept in Tibetan Buddhism among others. These energy centers are situated along the spine of the human body all the way to the top of the head. Every chakra has its own color and vibration frequency. The chakras control our emotions, from our self-esteem and survival instincts, to our ability to experience love and to communicate.

There are seven major chakras, each in a specific location along your spine. Let’s take a look at each chakra more closely.

The first chakra is the root chakra or Muladhara. This chakra is located at the base of our spine. This is the chakra that symbolizes security, stability, our basic needs and our physical body. It provides us with a foundation for life, and it even helps us feel grounded and able to resist challenges.

If we have an imbalanced root chakra, we feel insecure, uncertain and we usually get stucked in old patterns. We may also have compulsive behavior, greed and anger.

The second chakra is the Sacral chakra or Svadhisthana, and is located just below your belly button. This chakra symbolizes our sexuality, creative energy, lust, morality, spontaneity, ambition and joy. It’s also linked to how you relate to your emotions as well as the emotions of others.

If we have and imbalance here can we show a low sex drive and a lack of moral. We usually hold back and have a hard time getting for creativity.

The third chakra is the Solar plexus chakra or Manipura, which is located in our stomach area.

It symbolizes confidence, self-esteem, inspiration and our social contacts. This chakra helps us feel in control of our life. An imbalance here can be revealed by putting ourselves first through fixation of power. We can even experienced low energy levels and lack of confidence.

The fourth chakra is the Heart chakra or Anahata and is located in the middle of the chest near our heart. It stands for our relationships, love, emotions, fellowship, harmony, balance and compassion.

If we have an imbalanced heart chakra can we have relationship problems and we can have difficulty to feel our feelings and emotions.

The fifth chakra is the Throat chakra or Vishuddha, whichs is located in our throat. This chakra stands for all forms of communication. An imbalance here occurs when we do not stand up for ourselves, what we feel or think. We may also have problems with setting boundaries against other people.

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye chakra or Ajna, is located between our eyebrows. We can thank this chakra for our intuition and our subconscious. An imbalance here impairs the ability to listen inwardly and follow one's inner guidance.

The seventh and last chakra is the Crown chakra or Sahaswara and is located at the top of our head. Our Sahaswara represents our spirituality, in other words our spiritual connection to our higher self and the universe. This chakra also plays a role in our life’s purpose.

If we have an imbalance here can we experience a lack of spiritual connection, concentration problems, as well as we can face limitations when it comes to having visions or just the ability to look ahead.

Now you may wonder if a blocked or imbalanced chakra can affect your health. Let's find out!

The chakra or chakras that is/are out of balance may affect the parts of our body that are in close proximity to that chakra. This involves our joints, bones, organs and tissues close that area. Imbalances in the chakras may cause an emotional imbalance, which may results in sadness, anger or fear.

I think is very important to pay attention to our pains and emotions, because as I mentioned above the chakras can give us information and help us to uncover the cause of the pain and/or the sensation.

Illnesses, emotional disturbances and stress can cause the body to lose energy balance and block one or more chakras.

We should look over our personal habits such as our eating habits, our behavior against ourselves and others as well as our posture. If we are doing all of those things wrong or poorly then we may have an imbalance in one or more chakras.

Try to not prolong this imbalance, because they can lead to mental health challenges like anxiety or depression, physical illness and disease and other issues in our body.

What can we do to unblock our chakras?

We can practice breathing exercises to stimulate the flow of energy, we can practice yoga and we should meditate to generate clarity of mind.

Besides the exercises I showed above I want to show you other things we can do to unblock our chakras.

Root Chakra

To unblock or balance the Root Chakra we should try to eat red food like red peppers, tomatoes, cherries, etc and high protein food. Since the Root Chakra element is Earth, we balance the Root Chakra by spending a lot of time out in nature and feeling the grass under our feet and soil in our hands.

Sacral Chakra

To unblock or balance the Sacral Chakra we should look over the people that we have in our life and make sure to only surround with people who provide us with positive energy. Try to meet new people that would make the energy to flow.

Solar Plexus Chakra

To help unblock this chakra we need to be out in the sun a lot.

To sit by the fire can also have a positive effect.

Heart Chakra

To balance or unblock the Heart Chakra we should tyr to spend time in the nature. Walk on the lawns and feel the grass under our feet. Go out and spend a lot of time outdoors feeling the breeze in your face can be healing for this chakra.

Throat Chakra

To help unblock this chakra we could wear a turquoise scarf. Drinking plenty of water is also good for creating balans in this chakra and getting a neck massage. Singing and speaking our truth can help us to open up the Throat Chakra.

Third Eye Chakra

To balance or unblock this chakra we should wear indigo or dark colors clothing. It's also good to spend time outside in the sun and looking at beautiful things to stimulate our vision. Meditation can also be good if we want to still our thoughts.

Crown Chakra

To unblock the Crown Chakra we need to eat clean food, meaning more whole foods such as vegetables, fruits, whole grains, healthy fats and lean proteins. Try also to drink more water. Another great way to balance the Crown Chakra is by meditating.

Reikihealing är godkänd av Skatteverket som friskvård. Det innebär att du som har ”friskvårdspeng” på jobbet kan du använda den till Reikibehandlingar.

If you want to learn more about Reiki and get a treatment from me. Just let me know. Remember to share this post. Thank you and Namaste.

To book just click here

40 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla


bottom of page